Compare UK AI receptionists: What an AI receptionist really costs at 50 calls a month

Most AI receptionists advertise a headline price and meter you underneath it. We priced a real month for each one, from their own websites, checked 4 October 2026.

7 days free · no contract · cancel any time · Pro £30/month +VAT

The Voxra app answering a business call

The month we priced: 50 inbound calls averaging about two minutes, roughly 100 minutes. Metered providers are shown on the cheapest plan that covers it, overage included. All prices ex-VAT, each linked to the provider's own pricing page and checked 4 October 2026. Dollar and euro prices are converted at about $1.35 and €1.16 to the pound, so treat those as approximate.

We've included the providers that beat us on price and the ones that beat us on reputation. If a price has changed, tell us at help@helloiq.uk and we'll update it.

Side by side

  • Voxra ProIQ Mobile
    £30
    How we got this

    150 AI minutes included, so a 100-minute month fits with room to spare. A business mobile eSIM (calls, texts and 3GB) is included too.

    Monthly, no contract. Each call rounds up to the whole minute; extra minutes are 10p, sold in bundles (250 for £25).

    Books
    Into Google Calendar or Outlook (Cliniko for clinics) during the call
    Transfers
    Puts urgent callers through to your mobile
    Number
    Your own UK number on our network (new, or bring yours across)
    UK / currency
    UK network (IQ Mobile), GBP
  • Voxra LineIQ Mobile
    £10
    How we got this

    If you answer most calls yourself: your mobile rings first and Voxra takes the ones you miss, with 30 AI minutes included. If Voxra answered all 100 minutes you'd add a 250-minute bundle: £35 in all.

    Monthly, no contract. 30 AI minutes included; extra minutes 10p in bundles.

    Books
    Into Google Calendar or Outlook (Cliniko for clinics) during the call
    Transfers
    Your mobile already rang first, so there's nothing to put through
    Number
    A UK business number that rings the mobile you already have
    UK / currency
    UK network (IQ Mobile), GBP
  • Reception.aiby ElevenLabs
    ≈£30
    How we got this

    Basic $29/mo includes 75 phone minutes; 25 extra minutes at $0.45 = $11.25; total $40.25 ≈ £29.81 at $1.35/£ (approximate). Plus ($79, 275 min) would be ≈£59. USD, ex-tax. Annual billing is $24/mo on Basic.

    Monthly plan with a pooled credit allowance (1 credit = 1 inbound phone minute, 0.1 per SMS); usage beyond it is billed at the plan's overage rate, and unused credits don't roll over.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Every plan books, reschedules and cancels on the call; Google Calendar, Calendly and Cal.com integrations plus its own hosted booking page.
    Transfers
    Rule-based transfers; for a UK business they only work with your own Twilio or SIP numbers. Blind transfer by default.
    Number
    US/Canada numbers instantly; a UK number needs regulatory paperwork before it takes calls. Or bring your own Twilio/SIP number, or forward your line.
    UK / currency
    USD pricing, US-first; UK number available via regulatory paperwork
  • Hey Jodie
    £49
    How we got this

    Basic £49/month with unlimited minutes covers 50 calls / 100 minutes outright. Bookings and transfers need Professional at £99/month.

    Flat monthly subscription with unlimited minutes on every plan; no per-minute charges, no setup fee, month-to-month.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    "Appointment bookings" is ticked on Professional (£99) and Premium (£199) only, not on Basic (£49).
    Transfers
    "Call transfers" is ticked on Professional (£99) and above; not on Basic (£49).
    Number
    Forward your existing number to Jodie ("No porting, no new numbers"); a test number is given during setup.
    UK / currency
    UK-native, GBP (prices exclude VAT)
  • Hey Clara
    £39.99
    How we got this

    Clara plan £39.99/month answers unlimited calls ("no per-call or per-minute charges"), so 50 calls cost the same. Clara Pro £69.99 adds texts, transfers and scheduling. Annual: £33.25 / £58.25 a month equivalent.

    Flat monthly subscription with unlimited calls answered; 7 days free on eligible monthly plans; extra Pro seats £29/mo each.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    On Clara Pro, Clara offers times that fit your hours and "puts the request on your calendar for you to confirm". You confirm, then the caller gets a text. The base plan only takes messages.
    Transfers
    "Live call transfers" on Clara Pro only (rule-based: urgent keywords, regulars, callers asking for you).
    Number
    Forward your existing number, or take a Clara number as a second line.
    UK / currency
    UK site (/gb), GBP; also sells in the US
  • IONOS AI ReceptionistIONOS (page doesn't name Newo.ai)
    £48.80
    How we got this

    Flex £39/month includes 30 calls, then £0.49 per call: £39 + 20 × £0.49 = £48.80 for 50 calls. Booking needs Flex Pro at £69/month (100 calls included, then £0.39 per call). Ex-VAT.

    Monthly plan with a set number of calls included and a per-call charge after that (Unlimited £99 has no cap); cancel anytime, 1 month free trial / 30-day money-back.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    "Appointment scheduling with calendar integration" (Google Calendar, Outlook, Cal.com, Calendly) on Flex Pro £69 and Unlimited £99 only.
    Transfers
    Every plan includes call forwardings (Flex: 1, Flex Pro: 5, Unlimited: unlimited). FAQ: "If an inquiry requires personal attention, the call can be routed to the appropriate contact." Warm vs blind is not stated.
    Number
    Every package includes a dedicated phone number. You keep your existing number by forwarding it to the AI number.
    UK / currency
    UK site, GBP, ex-VAT; EU data centres
  • Team-ConnectAir Landline
    ≈£55
    How we got this

    Lite £19.99/month includes 30 AI minutes; one 150-minute AI top-up (£34.99) covers the rest, giving £54.98. Top-ups "never expire", so later months may need fewer. Business Pro £79.99 includes 250 AI minutes.

    Monthly line plan with a small AI-minute allowance, plus prepaid AI-minute packs (150 for £34.99, 500 for £99.99, 1,000 for £169.99).

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    "Appointment booking" is listed on Lite (£19.99) and above; integrates with calendars.
    Transfers
    "Live transfer & intelligent routing" is listed on Lite and above.
    Number
    Their UK virtual numbers (Lite includes 2); you can also forward or port your existing number.
    UK / currency
    UK, GBP
  • TradeflowTradeFlow AI voice agent
    £36 + top-ups
    How we got this

    Not fully computable. Option A: the TradeFlow CRM at £36/month includes 150 daily credits, and the AI costs 75 credits/min, so about 2 AI minutes a day (about 60 a month, use-it-or-lose-it daily). The extra ~40 minutes need top-ups at an unpublished rate. Option B: the standalone voice agent costs £99 one-off setup, then pay-as-you-go credits or a 'PAYG to Unlimited' call plan at unpublished rates.

    £99 one-off setup (or free with the £36/month CRM), then usage-based credit top-ups. Credit prices and call-plan prices are not published.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Checks availability and books site visits into the TradeFlow calendar/CRM (Google Calendar sync on the CRM).
    Transfers
    FAQ: "The AI can transfer calls to you or a team member if the caller specifically requests to speak to someone."
    Number
    Dedicated UK business number, or forward your existing number.
    UK / currency
    UK-only, GBP, UK data storage
  • Foniofonio.ai
    ≈£103
    How we got this

    Solo €119/month billed monthly (€99/month billed yearly) includes 1,000 minutes, so 100 minutes is well inside. €119 ≈ £102.59 at €1.16/£ (approximate); annual ≈ £85/month. Ex-VAT.

    Monthly or annual subscription with included minutes; extra minutes auto-added in 100-minute packs at €15; 30-day money-back guarantee.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    "Calendar + bookings": checks availability, accepts and schedules appointments (Solo and up).
    Transfers
    "Call forwarding — Forwards live calls to employees if the AI cannot resolve the issue."
    Number
    1 fonio number included (+€9/mo per extra), or connect your own phone system (SIP trunk on Team). The page doesn't say which countries' numbers are offered.
    UK / currency
    EUR, German/EU company
  • Answer.co.uk AIAnswer AI
    £30
    How we got this

    Growth £30/month includes 50 calls, which matches the month exactly (further calls £0.85). The self-serve Lite plan would be £10 + 50 × £0.85 = £52.50 (plus a £25 minimum deposit). Growth is sold through an enquiry form, not online signup. Ex-VAT.

    Monthly subscription plus per-call charges (Lite) or a call bundle with £0.85 per extra call (Growth/Plus/Advanced); optional SMS delivery 10p per message.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    FAQ: appointment scheduling is "available across our Plus and Advanced plans" (£120+).
    Transfers
    "Transfer to live agent — Available on Growth Plan and up" ("additional fees apply"). Transfer rules can send calls to you or to their human answering service.
    Number
    Free 0207/0208 number: divert your existing line to it or use it as your main number.
    UK / currency
    UK, GBP
  • answer4u AIAnswer4u AI Receptionist
    £27
    How we got this

    The Starter bundle at £27/month includes 100 minutes, exactly the month (calls outside the bundle are £0.29/min), plus a one-time £25 setup. On pay-as-you-go it would be £14.99 + 100 × £0.27 = £41.99.

    Either PAYG (£14.99/month + 27p/min) or monthly minute bundles (Starter 100 min £27, Mid 250 £60, High 500 £105, Unlimited £250); £25 one-time setup; free 30-day trial.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Message-taking only: name, company/email, number and reason, plus basic FAQs.
    Transfers
    No transfer listed. FAQ: the AI "is designed for basic message taking".
    Number
    Not stated
    UK / currency
    UK (Nottingham), GBP
  • MoneypennyAI Receptionist + optional live receptionists
    Quote (from £25)
    How we got this

    The site says "Get started from £25 a month" but the price for 50 calls / 100 minutes is quote-only: "Our pricing is built around what you need, so the best next step is to talk to us." No UK pricing page (moneypenny.com/uk/pricing returns 404).

    Quote-based; set up with a Solutions Architect.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Appointment scheduling is one of the "five core tasks" (e.g. MOTs, viewings, consultations), with integrations.
    Transfers
    Call routing; hands over "to a real person seamlessly: either a Moneypenny Receptionist, available 24/7, or a member of your own team".
    Number
    Divert your calls to a number Moneypenny provides free; keep your own number.
    UK / currency
    UK, GBP
  • BT Business AI ReceptionistNEW, launched 1 Oct 2026; built on RingCentral
    Quote
    How we got this

    Not published. Sold in 100-minute bundles (100 to 14,000 minutes/month), so one 100-minute bundle would cover the month exactly. The page runs "50% off the 100 and 300-minute package for six months" (2 Oct to 20 Nov) without a list price. Optional onboarding session £150 one-off.

    Monthly rolling contract billed on inbound minutes in 100-minute bundles; overage is off by default (the service stops at 100% unless more minutes or capped overage are enabled).

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    "answering calls, booking meetings"; Outlook and Google Calendar integration and confirmations.
    Transfers
    "triaging to the relevant human"; directs calls to the appropriate person or team.
    Number
    Works across any UK fixed or mobile network, so you keep your existing number and phone system (BT newsroom).
    UK / currency
    UK, GBP
  • Marlie AIMinute bundles
    ≈£36
    How we got this

    Basic $49/mo includes 250 min, so 100 min fits with no overage ($0.35/min after). Spam and hang-up minutes still bill. Basic can't book or transfer.

    Monthly subscription in USD with extra minutes billed on top; unused minutes don't roll over.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Not on Basic; calendar booking starts at Standard $99/mo (≈£73)
    Transfers
    Not on Basic (messages only); 1 number on Standard $99, departments on Pro $199
    Number
    Dedicated Marlie (Twilio) number you forward to; no UK +44 option published, setup docs are US carriers only
    UK / currency
    USD; New York LLC; no UK presence published
  • Smith.aiAI + human agents
    ≈£56
    How we got this

    Free plan covers 25 calls; the other 25 at $3.00/call = $75. Pro ($150, 75 calls) costs more. Billed per call, not per minute; up to 10% of calls can be removed as spam.

    Per-call billing in USD on a monthly plan, no contract, 30 days' notice to cancel.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    AI scheduling (Calendly and others) included on every plan, Free included
    Transfers
    Warm transfers to your team with call context
    Number
    Dedicated number included; no UK +44 number published, and the service is North America-focused
    UK / currency
    USD; California company, North America agents; no UK presence
  • UpfirstPer-call billing
    ≈£41
    How we got this

    Starter $24.95 includes 30 calls; 20 extra at $1.50 = $54.95. Spam, silent calls and calls under 15s aren't billed. Premium ($59.95, 90 calls) costs slightly more.

    Monthly plans priced by calls received, in USD ("Prices in USD"), 20% off if paid annually.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Books into Google, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Square, Clio on all plans
    Transfers
    Live warm transfers on all plans
    Number
    Upfirst number included (US 10-digit or toll-free); no UK +44 option published; forwarding guide covers US carriers only
    UK / currency
    USD; US company, support 9am–6pm ET; no UK presence
  • My AI Front DeskPhone, chat, SMS + CRM
    ≈£73
    How we got this

    Business-in-a-Box $99/mo includes 200 voice min, so 100 min fits. Overage is 25 credits ($0.25) per min. The free tier is gone: "does not offer a permanently free plan".

    Flat monthly plan in USD with an overage credit pool ($10 per 1,000 credits); $79/mo if paid annually.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Books, reschedules and handles no-show follow-ups; built-in CRM
    Transfers
    Call transfer is an agent action (2 of each action type on Business)
    Number
    Yes, a UK +44 number can be reserved (UK ID and proof of UK address needed), then you forward your line to it
    UK / currency
    USD; US company; UK numbers supported, no UK office published
  • GoodcallBilled per unique caller
    ≈£59
    How we got this

    Starter $79/mo per agent: unlimited minutes, 100 unique callers, so 50 callers fits ($0.50 per caller over 100). The free tier is gone; there's a 14-day trial instead.

    Monthly per-agent subscription in USD, priced by unique callers rather than minutes; 15% off if paid annually.

    Source · checked 4 Oct 2026

    Books
    Books in real time via Google Calendar, Calendly and Square Appointments
    Transfers
    Transfers to directory contacts (3 on Starter)
    Number
    Goodcall US number only; help centre: "currently available in the USA", international numbers in beta
    UK / currency
    USD; US-only service per its own help centre

yes · on some plans or partly · no

Where the others win

answer4u and Answer.co.uk are cheaper for taking messages

At 50 calls a month answer4u's 100-minute bundle is £27 and Answer.co.uk's Growth plan is £30, both less than or level with us. If all you want is a message taken, that's fair money. Booking and transfers cost more with both.

Reception.ai has the best voices

It's ElevenLabs' own product, and most AI receptionists (ours included) use ElevenLabs voices. It books on every plan from $29 a month. The catches for a UK business are a US-first setup, dollar billing and $0.45 a minute once you pass 75 minutes.

Hey Jodie and Hey Clara don't meter you

Hey Jodie is £49 a month with unlimited minutes and is the best-known name in UK trades; Hey Clara answers unlimited calls for £39.99. If you take long calls and don't need booking, flat pricing is simple. Booking and transfers are on their higher plans (£99 and £69.99).

Moneypenny gives you real people

If you want a person who knows your business, an AI receptionist is the wrong purchase. Moneypenny pairs AI with optional live receptionists, on a quote.

What's different about Voxra

It answers your mobile

Your business number lives on our UK mobile network, so the AI is part of the line rather than a divert bolted on. Pro includes the business mobile itself: an eSIM with calls, texts and 3GB.

More than an AI receptionist

Voxra also replies to customers on WhatsApp, drafts quotes from the call, and takes deposits by secure payment link or Tap to Pay. You run it by message: “what did I miss?”, “send the quote”.

One GBP bill, minutes included

£30 with 150 AI minutes and a business eSIM included; extra minutes are 10p. No dollars or euros on a card.

Questions

How did you work out the cost at 50 calls a month?

We assume 50 inbound calls averaging about two minutes each, roughly 100 minutes: a normal month for a sole trader. Where a provider meters minutes or calls we take the cheapest plan that covers that volume and add its published overage. Every price comes from the provider's own website (linked in the table) and was checked on 4 October 2026. Prices are ex-VAT; dollars and euros are converted at about $1.35 and €1.16 to the pound, so treat those as approximate.

Which is the cheapest AI receptionist in the UK?

For a 50-call month, answer4u (£27) and Answer.co.uk (£30) are the cheapest we found, but both mainly take messages: booking and transfers cost more. Voxra Pro is £30 with booking, transfers and a business mobile included, and Voxra Line is £10 if you answer most calls yourself.

What does “books on the call” mean?

That the appointment is made during the call, against your real availability, and lands in the diary you already use. Voxra books into Google Calendar or Outlook (Cliniko for clinics). A tool that texts you “Mrs Jones would like Thursday” hasn't booked anything; you still have to ring her back.

Is Reception.ai (ElevenLabs) worth a look?

Yes. It's a good product, keenly priced, with the best voices in the business. For a UK business the catch is telephony: it's US-first, UK numbers need regulatory paperwork before they take calls, you're billed in dollars, and you pay $0.45 a minute after 75 minutes.

What about US services like Smith.ai, Goodcall or Marlie AI?

UK roundups often recommend them, so we've priced them too: Marlie AI about £36, Upfirst £41, Smith.ai £56, Goodcall £59 and My AI Front Desk £73 for a 50-call month. All bill in dollars, and most give you a US number you forward your UK line to; only My AI Front Desk publishes a way to get a UK (+44) number, and it needs UK ID and proof of address. Marlie's cheapest plan doesn't book or transfer calls; that's $99 a month.

Where does Voxra lose?

We're the newest name here. Hey Jodie and Moneypenny have years of reputation, and Reception.ai has ElevenLabs behind it. If you only need messages taken, answer4u is cheaper. We'd rather you judged Voxra on a 7-day free trial than on a brand you already know.

Do I have to change my number to try it?

No. Voxra Line rings the mobile you already have. On Pro you start with a new local number straight away and can move your existing number across when you're ready. There's no contract, and you can cancel at any time.

Judge it on a real month.

7 days free, no contract, cancel any time.

Start your 7-day free trial